Bad Medicine?

alcohol hook them while they are young

Proverbs 23:29 ¶ Who has woe? Who has sorrow? Who has contentions? Who has complaints? Who has wounds without cause? Who has redness of eyes? 30 Those who linger long at the wine, Those who go in search of mixed wine. 31 Do not look on the wine when it is red, When it sparkles in the cup, When it swirls around smoothly; 32 At the last it bites like a serpent, And stings like a viper. 33 Your eyes will see strange things, And your heart will utter perverse things. 34 Yes, you will be like one who lies down in the midst of the sea, Or like one who lies at the top of the mast, saying:
35 “They have struck me, but I was not hurt; They have beaten me, but I did not feel it. When shall I awake, that I may seek another drink?” (NKJV)

Although the Bible does not explicitly say, “Thou shall not drink adult beverages,” it makes it very clear that we should be very, very careful how we use this freedom of choice. Personally, I believe that while living in a culture where 10 thousand persons a year are killed drunk drivers, and where thousands upon thousands of others are seriously hurt or maimed by the same, where the misuse of alcohol is directly responsible for the neglect of children, and the abuse of both moms and dads, that using alcoholic beverages is not a smart way to use my Christian liberty.

As a Bible believing Christian, I would rather use the liberty that God has given me to engage in activities that build up and encourage others, and activities that promote life and peace.  As it is written:

Romans 14:16 Therefore do not let your good be spoken of as evil; 17 for the kingdom of God is not eating and drinking, but righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. 18 For he who serves Christ in these things is acceptable to God and approved by men.
19 Therefore let us pursue the things which make for peace and the things by which one may edify another. 20 Do not destroy the work of God for the sake of food. All things indeed are pure, but it is evil for the man who eats with offense. 21 It is good neither to eat meat nor drink wine nor do anything by which your brother stumbles or is offended or is made weak.


Published by

E. Wohner

By God's amazing grace, I have served in the ministry for over 22 years; 17 of which were as a cross-cultural missionary in New York City, and five years as a local church pastor. Currently, I work for Prudential as a financial professional associate. The only things that I can say about myself are that I love God, I love people, I love living my faith, and I love being of service to others helping them reach their full potential.

Leave a Reply

