His Eye is on the Sparrow …… and me too

Proverbs 15:3 ¶ The eyes of the LORD are in every place, Keeping watch on the evil and the good.

I was really convicted by today’s verse because it reminded me of a conversation that I had with a brother in Christ not too long ago.

  • Question: “Why wouldn’t I open up a Playboy magazine and read it in church?”
  • Answer: “Because you would be embarrassed to do so.
  • Response: “You are right. There are many things that I would not even think of doing publicly because I fear what others will think of me if I did them. Nevertheless, there are many things that I think of doing, and oft times do do privately, that I know God is not pleased with.”

The truth is: We will do things privately that we wouldn’t even think of doing publicly.  Why, you may ask?  Let me suggest to you that it is because we fear what men think of us far more than we fear God.

The verse above is a fresh reminder that whither we are in public or in private, God is there and we need to conduct ourselves accordingly. As it is written:

2 Cor. 5:9 Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him.

10 For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ,

that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.

Published by

E. Wohner

By God's amazing grace, I have served in the ministry for over 22 years; 17 of which were as a cross-cultural missionary in New York City, and five years as a local church pastor. Currently, I work for Prudential as a financial professional associate. The only things that I can say about myself are that I love God, I love people, I love living my faith, and I love being of service to others helping them reach their full potential.

Leave a Reply

