The Battle is the Lord

assyriancavalvry

When the king Sennacherib of Assyria led his army against Judah he brought with him an impressive resume of destruction:

2 Chronicles 32:13 ‘Do you not know what I and my fathers have done to all the peoples of other lands? Were the gods of the nations of those lands in any way able to deliver their lands out of my hand? 4 ‘Who was there among all the gods of those nations that my fathers utterly destroyed that could deliver his people from my hand, that your God should be able to deliver you from my hand?”

Humanly speaking, Hezekiah and his people were trapped in a hopeless situation. Nevertheless, I thank God that Hezekiah knew that his help came from the Lord, and by faith he encouraged his people to listen to God and not to men.

2 Chronicles 32:7 “Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid nor dismayed before the king of Assyria, nor before all the multitude that is with him; for there are more with us than with him. 8 “With him is an arm of flesh; but with us is the LORD our God, to help us and to fight our battles.” And the people were strengthened by the words of Hezekiah king of Judah.

If you read this amazing chapter of the Bible you will discover that there were some keys to Hezekiah’s overcoming faith; 1) he sought the Lord with his whole heart, 2) he trusted in God’s word, and 3) he knew that there was power in prayer. At the end of the day, God honored Hezekiah’s faith and He sent His angel to destroy the Assyrian army; God sent this evil king home in disgrace where his own family turned against him.

2 Chronicles 32:21 Then the LORD sent an angel who cut down every mighty man of valor, leader, and captain in the camp of the king of Assyria. So he returned shamefaced to his own land. And when he had gone into the temple of his god, some of his own offspring struck him down with the sword there.  

Beloved, whatever you are facing today (or every day), “Be strong and courageous”, knowing that God is in control. Trust Him completely, and allow Him to fight your battles, “for the battle is the Lord’s.”

Published by

E. Wohner

By God's amazing grace, I have served in the ministry for over 22 years; 17 of which were as a cross-cultural missionary in New York City, and five years as a local church pastor. Currently, I work for Prudential as a financial professional associate. The only things that I can say about myself are that I love God, I love people, I love living my faith, and I love being of service to others helping them reach their full potential.

Leave a Reply

