Living Daily: the Enabling and Sustaining Grace

One of the most blessed and powerful spiritual truths in all of the Bible is this one; that without God’s enabling grace in our lives we are nothing. I love how this truth was presented afresh to king David in 1 Chronicles 17:7-8.

1 Chron. 17:7 “Now therefore, thus shall you say to My servant David, ‘Thus says the LORD of hosts: “I took you from the sheepfold, from following the sheep, to be ruler over My people Israel. 8 “And I have been with you wherever you have gone, and have cut off all your enemies from before you, and have made you a name like the name of the great men who are on the earth.

When David wanted to do something for God (i.e., build Him a temple), God slowed him down and reminded him that He was the One in the “doing” business. God said to David, “I took you from the sheepfold, from following the sheep, to be ruler over My people Israel.” God reminded David that He did not need David, but that David needed Him. Let me say this again, God doesn’t need us to do anything for Him. However, on the contrary, God delights in graciously, and for His glory, doing marvelous things for and through His chosen.

This same truth was revealed to the disciples when Jesus told them in John 15:5, “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing”. Did Jesus really say to the disciples, “without Me you can do nothing”? Yes, and He meant every word.

Because we all tend to think far too much of ourselves and our “abilities”, it is easy to forget that it is God who “gives you power to get wealth” (Deut. 8:18), who makes our feet like the feet of a deer, and Who sets us on high places (Psalm 18:33), and Who does so much more for us and through us. I love how our dependence on God’s enabling and sustaining grace is summed up in Psalm 18:35, which says, “You have also given me the shield of Your salvation; Your right hand has held me up, Your gentleness has made me great.”

Knowing that all that I am and all that I will ever be is 100% dependent on God is a powerful truth to live by day by day. I like Major Ian Thomas’ words on living day by day, totally dependent on God below. Major Thomas writes:

Did you ever make this discover? Have you ever come to the place where you realized that all you can produce, at your best, is ashes? Did you ever come to the place where you presented yourself for what you are–nothing–to be filled with what He is–everything–and to step out into every new day, conscious that the eternal I AM is all you need, for all His will!

This is the forgotten tense of the Church of Jesus Christ today. We live either in the past tense of in the future tense. We say either “Ebenezer–hitherto hath the Lord helped us,” or we comfort ourselves with “Marantha–Behold the Lord cometh,” –but we forget that He is the eternal I AM, the eternal present tense, adequate right now for every need!

If you are born again, all you need is what you have, and what you have is what He is! He does not give you strength–He is your strength! He does not give you victory–He is your victory!

Do you understand the principle? Christ is in you–nothing less that that! You cannot have more, and you do not need to have less, and every day can be the glorious fulfillment of this divine end–“Proving what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God,” as you present your body a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. (Major Ian Thomas, The Saving Life of Christ)

Published by

E. Wohner

By God's amazing grace, I have served in the ministry for over 22 years; 17 of which were as a cross-cultural missionary in New York City, and five years as a local church pastor. Currently, I work for Prudential as a financial professional associate. The only things that I can say about myself are that I love God, I love people, I love living my faith, and I love being of service to others helping them reach their full potential.

One thought on “Living Daily: the Enabling and Sustaining Grace”

Leave a Reply

