Victory over fear

overcoming-fear

1 John 5:4 For whatever is born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world–our faith. 5 Who is he who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?

It is no sin to be afraid.  When king Jehoshaphat’s kingdom was threatened by an overwhelming army, the Bible says that this godly king “feared” (2 Chronicles 20:1-3).  When the apostle Paul shared his testimony with the Corinthians, he admitted that there were times in his life when he was “troubled on every side. Outside were conflicts, inside were fears.” (2 Corinthians 7:5).

It is OK to be afraid at times, but it is never OK to allow fear to stifle us, stagnate us, subjugate us, or cause us to stumble and feel sorry for ourselves.  When Jehoshaphat feared, he sought strength and comfort by standing on the promises of God (2 Chronicles 20:4-13).  In the midst of his troubles, conflicts, and fears Paul found his strength in God; the One “who comforts the downcast” (2 Corinthians 7:6)   When I consider the examples above, I have to conclude that it is no sin to fear.  However, I must also conclude that if I do not turn my times of fear into opportunities to renew my trust in the unfailing promises of God, then I will be faithless; and whatever is not of faith is sin (Romans 14:23)

Psalm 56:3 Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.

I love Watchman Nee’s thoughts on victorious faith living below :

“Let me tell you here and now that if Satan comes to make you feel cold, weak and defeated, you should say , ‘I am victorious, for Christ is my victory.’   If he comes to make you feel hasty, you still should say, ‘I am victorious, because Christ is my victory.’  By so doing you declare that what Satan does and says is a lie, because only the word of God is true.  This is faith, and such tested faith is the kind which glorifies God’s name.”

“….. genuine faith must successfully go through testing.  You are finished if as soon as you encounter temptation you concede you do nave victory.”

“When you are faced with temptation, you will stand victoriously if you declare that God’s word–the word of Jehovah of host–is trustworthy and dependable.  Whatever God says is yea and amen, and His word is set in heaven forever.  The question now is, whose word will you believe?”  (Watchman Nee, The Life That Wins)

fear-no-evil

Published by

E. Wohner

By God's amazing grace, I have served in the ministry for over 22 years; 17 of which were as a cross-cultural missionary in New York City, and five years as a local church pastor. Currently, I work for Prudential as a financial professional associate. The only things that I can say about myself are that I love God, I love people, I love living my faith, and I love being of service to others helping them reach their full potential.

Leave a Reply

