Glory in this: God’s grace

cross and prayer png

Jeremiah 9:23 ¶ Thus says the LORD: “Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom, Let not the mighty man glory in his might, Nor let the rich man glory in his riches;  24 But let him who glories glory in this, That he understands and knows Me, That I am the LORD, exercising lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness in the earth. For in these I delight,” says the LORD.

2 Corinthians 12:9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

For many years I have lived with the conviction that if I think that I have found a hidden truth in the Bible that no one before me could see or figure out, or if I think I have gained a new insight or revelation from God about a particular Bible truth that has been lost for ages, or if I think that I possess a deeper understanding of the gospel than all of the other saints who have walked the faith road before me,  then it is more than likely (99.999% sure) that my newly discovered truth, revelation, or understanding of the Bible is heresy.  For this reason I like reading the words of the saints of old; Godly men that God has wonderfully used in the past to feed and shepherd his people.  I truly believe that better minds than mine have been at this thing for a long time, and if I humble myself, and suppress the inward inclination within me to think more of myself than I ought, then I can learn many things from the elders of the church that will help me navigate my own spiritual journey.  With this said, I love Martin Luther’s words below concerning the wonderfully humbling grace of Jesus.  Luther said:

God wants to regard and does regard us as completely righteous and holy, for the sake of Christ our mediator.  Although sin in the flesh is still not completely gone or dead, God will still not count it or consider it.

….. Therefore we cannot boast about the great merit of our works, where they are viewed without grace and mercy.  Rather, as it is written, “Let the one who boast, boast in the Lord.”  If one has a gracious God, then everything is good.  Furthermore, we say also that if good works do not follow, then the faith (the faith we say we have in Christ) is false and not true.”  (Martin Luther, The Schmalkald Articles – translated by Wm. R. Russell)

Published by

E. Wohner

By God's amazing grace, I have served in the ministry for over 22 years; 17 of which were as a cross-cultural missionary in New York City, and five years as a local church pastor. Currently, I work for Prudential as a financial professional associate. The only things that I can say about myself are that I love God, I love people, I love living my faith, and I love being of service to others helping them reach their full potential.

Leave a Reply

